The Friends'  BOOK CLUB

David Kelly, Co-ordinator

mobileDavid323@gmail.com

Every buddy's 

Welcome! 

The Book Club meets on the third Friday of the month at 2:00 pm inThe Learning Center at the Library.


Members of the Club 

read the selected book 

for the month, then join

 in lively discussions.


All Book Club selections can be found on our Library's shelves (courtesy of the Friends) and are also available as downloadable E-books through the Library's Overdrive program.  


For more information:

City of Palm Springs:
Book Club FOPSL


Scheduled Book Discussions

For the 2018-2019 SEASON . . .

February 15, 2019

CANNERY ROW     by John Steinbeck, 208 pages  (1994)

Unburdened by the material necessities of the more fortunate, the denizens of Cannery Row discover rewards unknown in more traditional society. Henry the painter sorts through junk lots for pieces of wood to incorporate into the boat he is building, while the girls from Dora Flood’s bordello venture out now and then to enjoy a bit of sunshine. Lee Chong stocks his grocery with almost anything a man could want and Doc, a young marine biologist who ministers to sick puppies and unhappy souls, unexpectedly finds true love. Cannery Row is just a few blocks long, but the story it harbors is suffused with warmth, understanding and a great fund of human values.

First published in 1945, Cannery Row focuses on the acceptance of life as it is—both the exuberance of community and the loneliness of the individual. John Steinbeck drew on his memories of the real inhabitants of Monterey, California, and interwove their stories in a world where only the fittest survive—creating what is at once one of his most humorous and poignant works. In Cannery Row, Steinbeck returns to the setting of Tortilla Flat to create another evocative portrait of life as it is lived by those who unabashedly put the highest value on the intangibles—human warmth, camaraderie and love.


March 15, 2019

ASTRO-PHYSICS for PEOPLE in a HURRY

by Neil De Grasse Tyson, 224 pages  (2017)

What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There’s no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than acclaimed astrophysicist and best-selling author Neil deGrasse Tyson.

Today, alas, few of us have time to contemplate the deeper mysteries of the cosmos, so Tyson has brought the universe succinctly down to Earth, with clear, sparkling wit in tasty chapters consumable anytime and anywhere in your busy day: waiting for your morning coffee to brew, or for the bus, the train or a plane to arrive. Astrophysics for People in a Hurry will reveal just what youneed to be fluent and ready for the future cosmic headlines: from the Big Bang to black holes, from quarks to quantum mechanics and from the search for planets to the search for extraterrestrial life.


April 19, 2019

WOMAN in the WINDOW      by A. J. Finn, 448 pages  (2018)

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful, Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house. . . . It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening!

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother and their teenage son; the perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who's in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—are what they seem. Ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.


May 17, 2019

ELEANOR OLIPHONT is COMPLETELY FINE

by Gail Honeyman, 317 pages  (2017)



Meet Eleanor Elephant, who's never been told that life should be better than fine. Though she struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she’s thinking, nothing is really missing in her carefully time-tabled life of avoiding social interactions, with weekends punctuated by frozen pizza, vodka and phone chats with Mummy. 

But then, everything changes when Eleanor meets Raymond, the bumbling and deeply un-hygienic IT guy from her office. When she and Raymond together save Sammy, an elderly gentleman who has fallen on the sidewalk, the three become friends who unexpectedly rescue each another from their lives of isolation. And it is Raymond’s big heart that will ultimately help Eleanor find the way to repair her own profoundly damaged one.



Soon to be a major motion picture produced by Reese Witherspoon, Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is the smart, warm and uplifting story of an out-of-the-ordinary heroine whose deadpan weirdness and unconscious wit make for an irresistible journey as she realizes the only way to survive is to open your heart. 


June 21, 2019

DUBLINERS      by James Joyce, 172 pages  (1999)

Judi Hollis says: 15 short stories; the last, The Dead, was made into a film by John Houston starring his daughter, Angelica.

Living overseas but writing, always, about his native city, Joyce made Dublin unforgettable. The stories in Dubliners show us truants, seducers, gossips, rally-drivers, generous hostesses, corrupt politicians, failing priests, amateur theologians, struggling musicians, moony adolescents, victims of domestic brutishness, sentimental aunts and poets, patriots earnest or cynical and people striving to get by. In every sense an international figure, Joyce was faithful to his own country by seeing it unflinchingly and challenging every precedent and piety in Irish literature.


This Season We've Read:

January 18, 2019

LAST BUS to WISDOM     by Ivan Doig, 453 pages  (2015)

For a summary of the discussion, click here.


December 20, 2018

BEARTOWN  by Fredrik Backman, 415 pages  (2017)

For a summary of the discussion, click here.


November 16, 2018

WHITE HOUSES   by Amy Bloom, 218 pages  (2018)

For a summary of the discussion, click here.



October 19, 2018

A GENTLEMAN in MOSCOW 

by Amor Towles, 462 pages  (2016)

For a summary of the discussion, click here.


September 21, 2018

The JOB  by Sinclair Lewis, 327 pages  (2015)

For a summary of the discussion, click here.



Books from Last Season, 2017 - 2018


September 15, 2017      ANOTHER BROOKLYN   by Jacqueline Woodson, 175 pages (2106)

For a summary of the discussion, click here.


October 20, 2017     

The Adventures of TOM SAWYER   by Mark Twain,  274 pages (1876)

For a summary of the discussion, click here


November 17, 2017     

LADIES of the CANYONS: 

A League of Extraordinary Women and Their Adventures in the American Southwest 

by Lesley Poling-Kempes, 384 pages (2015)

For a summary of the discussion, click here.


December 15, 2017         

LAB GIRL  by Hope Jahren, 291 pages (2016)

For a summary of the discussion, click here


January 19, 2018      

FOR WHOM THE BELL TOLLS  by Ernest Hemingway, 480 pages (1940)

For a summary of the discussion, click here.


February 16, 2018     

The UNDERGROUND RAILROAD  by Colson Whitehead, 320 pages (2016)

For a summary of the discussion, click here


March 16, 2018        

STILL LIFE   by Louise Penny, 320 pages (2008)

For a summary of the discussion, click here


April 20, 2018


The THREE-YEAR SWIM CLUB: 

The Untold Story of Maui's Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory

by Julie Checkoway, 351 pages (2016)

For a summary of the discussion, click here


May 18, 2018

The IMMORTAL LIFE of HENRIETTA LACKS

by Rebecca Skloot, 381 pages (2010)

For a summary of the discussion, click here.


June 15, 2018

The SEVEN STAIRS: An Adventure of the Heart

by Stuart Brent, 231 pages (1962)

For a summary of the discussion, click here.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software